Barbara Bonney Award News

Janet Lee Receives 2016 Barbara Bonney Award

Janet Lee, a technology trainer in Information Technology Services, received the Barbara Bonney Award at the Staff Service Awards luncheon on Friday, Feb. 26, 2016.

Upon being notified about the award, Lee said, “I am truly honored to be a part of the Barbara Bonney Staff Award tradition. As a recipient of this year’s award, I have realized that it comes with great responsibility as well. I will continue to provide the best service, to encourage others to be the best at what they do and to share positive experience with others.”

Lee is a well-known face when it comes to ITS. Whether it is answering various technology questions or helping departments transition to Box, she is always ready to lend her help with a natural, patient attitude. Jennifer Eich, associate dean in the Bellarmine College of Liberal Arts, commented, “I have seen her offer to help people in my office, the hallway, a classroom, walking across campus, and even in the Rec Center in the morning when we all come to exercise!”

Lee’s expertise is exemplified specifically in her hands-on workshops. In 2015, she provided 100 general workshops, 50 department trainings, and 160 individual consultations. By being versatile in anticipating various needs, she makes sure her workshops are straightforward, even when technology isn’t as easy to understand. These interactions have afforded Lee many opportunities to listen, to share, and to learn from the LMU community, as well as keep the workshops fresh and LMU’s technological aptitude current.

“Janet lives out the Ignatian ideal of meeting people where they are and listening carefully and without judgment to what they are really saying,” said Patrick Frontiera, vice president for ITS. “Janet’s positive disposition is contagious.”

Pictured: Janet Lee (right) with John Orozco, Staff Senate President, at the Staff Service Awards Luncheon.

The Barbara Bonney Staff Member of the Year Award is presented annually to a staff member who has shown continued excellence in one's professional area, commitment to the ideals of higher education, leadership and initiative within one's area or the university as a whole, unique contribution to improving the quality of life at LMU, and public service to the LMU community. Previous recipients include Henry Ward, director of Intercultural Affairs (2015), and Dale Marini, recently retired associate director of admissions (2014).