Government Relations

Email  email  

Bookmark and Share  share

State Relations

Maintaining good state government relations are vital to the on-going success of Cal Grant recipients at LMU. In collaboration with the Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities (AICCU), LMU works to inform, lobby and build support for programs and legislation that directly impacts the LMU community.    


Hundreds of LMU students, faculty and staff rallied to save the Cal Grant program from being reduced in Governor Brown's budget proposal on April 27, 2012. 
On March 2, 2012, LMU President David W. Burcham accepted a resolution from Assemblymember Steven C. Bradford and Senator Ted Lieu in honor of the university's centennial. 
LMU hosted Senator Roderick D. Wright and 
Assemblyman Steven C. Bradford on 
November 21, 2009 for a Westchester Town Hall. 

Atop the solar-paneled roof of University Hall
at LMU, Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger 
signed a memorandum of understanding to 
expedite renewable energy projects. Joining 
him on October 12, 2009, were Secretary of Interior Ken Salazar and Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, who recognized LMU as a "forward-thinking university." 

Notable Alums and Friends of the University

Senator Robert G. Beverly, Law '51 served as a state assemblyman from 1968-1976 and a state senator from 1977-1996. The Robert Beverly papers are archived at LMU’s Leavey Center for the Study of Los Angeles.

Wayne Bell, Law '79 serves as real estate commissioner of California. He was appointed to the position by Governor Jerry Brown in 2013.

Governor Benjamin Cayetano, LMU Parent, served as the governor of Hawaii from 1994-2002.

Senator Mark DeSaulnier, LMU parent, is a state senator representing the Bay Area's District 7.

Curtis Earnest, Law '86 is chief of staff for Senator Curren D. Price, Jr.

Assemblymember Mike Gatto, Law '04 represents the 43rd district in the state assembly.

Senator Tom Harman, Law '68 represents the 35th district in the state senate and has also served in the assembly.

Governor Robert Miller, Law '71 was governor of the State of Nevada from 1989-1999.

Secretary Ross Miller '02 earned dual advanced degrees in Law and a Masters in Business Administration at LMU. He serves as the secretary of state of Nevada.

Senator Kevin Murray M.B.A. '83, Law '87 served as Appropriations Chair until he was termed out in 2006. He is currently working as an entertainment attorney.

Daniel L. Reeves, Law '92 is chief of staff for Senator Kevin de Leon.

President Pro Tem David Roberti '61 served in the California Legislature from 1967 to 1994. In 1996, he donated the David Roberti Papers to LMU. These papers document the years he spent as California State Assemblymember for the 48th District from 1967-1971 and as California State Senator from 1971-1994, which include his years as President Pro Tem of the Senate from 1980-1994.

Juan Carlos Torres '96 is chief deputy director of appointments for the Senate Rules committee. He is the former chief of staff for Assemblymember Hector de la Torre.